Winners of the Outstanding Ophthalmic Technician Awards

Raleigh NC—Local Eye Site and Icare USA announce the winners of the Outstanding Ophthalmic Technician Awards in four regions of the U.S. The awards recognize the quality care and dedication of Ophthalmic Technicians, who demonstrate exemplary talents in clinical practices, patient care, and collaboration. 

The winner in the midwest region is Kristine Smallman of Williams Eye Institute in Hammond, IN. The northeast winner is Elizabeth Foley of Berks Eye Physicians and Surgeons Ltd. in Wyomissing, PA. Charlene Seidel of Jacksonville Eye Center in Jacksonville, FL won in the southeast, and Marilu Garcia of Eye Physicians Medical Surgical Center in Chula Vista, CA won in the west. This exceptional group exhibits teamwork with doctors and colleagues, and industry leadership through peer mentorship. 

Also receiving prizes are the those who nominated winners. Thoughtful and descriptive nomination entries from these nominators shared the personal stories of the awardees. Winning nominators include Kristin DeLuna for Kristine Smallman, Jessica Bohner for Elizabeth Foley, Susan Corwin for Charlene Seidel, and Gayle Howard for Marilu Garcia.

The awards program is established by Local Eye Site and is sponsored by Icare USA. Local Eye Site has granted awards to Ophthalmic Techs twice before in previous years.

Each winner will receive $500 in the form of a Visa gift card, and the person that nominated the winner will receive a $250 gift card.

Sponsor, Icare USA, is also providing an Icare® HOME tonometer to the ophthalmology practice where winners are employed. This is an easy and patient-friendly method for 24-hour monitoring of intraocular pressure to tailor the management of glaucoma patients and suspects. 

Brad McCorkle, Founder and CEO of Local Eye Site, John Floyd, Icare USA President and CEO, and Holly Swain, Product Manager at Icare USA will be traveling from North Carolina to present awards to winners in-person at their practice in early 2018.

Brad McCorkle, Founder and CEO of Local Eye Site, said “We congratulate all winners and as well as the 277 individuals who participated in this program by nominating colleagues for the amazing work they do. I’m so impressed by this spirit of teamwork and support from ophthalmic professionals.”

“We’re delighted to show our appreciation to hard-working Ophthalmic Technicians,” said Icare President and CEO, John Floyd. “We’ve read countless inspirational stories and it’s clear to us that there are many individuals in this profession going above and beyond at work.”

Contact Us with Any Questions